A phantom's story: my HT experience and plan - Dr. Feller to remove my mask?

dhuge67

Hello all, I'm sure you've heard my terrible HT story before so I won't bore you with it.

Okay, I'll bore you a little bit: 1,600 or so FUs (I'd like to say "FU" to my doc icon_wink.gif) in the hairline and temple area. Horrible placement, unnatural hairline, thin coverage. I'm pissed.

The recipient site was not shaved for the HT, and hence, some of the hair grows out from the scalp at strange angles. If I keep it cut short, this is not an issue, but even shaved and upon close inspection it looks pretty pluggy. Yikes!

Well, that's why my hat collection and I are still good friends. It's also why I've become fond of beard trimmers as a hair-styling device.

Bills comments about feeling like the Phantom of the Opera really hit home with me...really.

Anyway, I decided that since I'm a student and have not yet had to take out a loan, I decided to take the plunge. After all, the student loan payback period is great and interest rate is so low that you can't really beat it. Especially considering the University I attend has an average student debt of 28,000 dollars upon graduation, and I previously had ZERO, I felt sort of justified in my decision to take out a 9,000 dollar loan.

I'm fine with telling you all this. Hell, I'm 22 and in college. I'm not trying to sugar coat here. I want this situation fixed (at least from the front half of my head. Luckily, my crown still has good coverage but is thinner, for sure. Nothing a little toppik can't cure and then another HT down the road will probably take care of that.

I want the doctor I choose to approach me as if I am the baldest human imaginable (think James Carville except I'm not a goblin).

I want him to look at my situation as if everything except for the already-transplanted hair is gone, and then work around that.

It's my best bet for "success" in this repair/reconstruction case that I present.