Dr. Umar -18,745 graft SFET surgery completed

Hello Everyone,

I just wanted to start a "before" thread on some of the various forums. I am a Norwood 6 that hopes to return to the best place possible with my donor supply. I have worn a hair piece for years and would like to be rid of it if possible. I have done my best to research the options through the forums, through the web, and by meeting with some of the doctors. I also met with a patient as I was considering options. I would like to post some of my "before" pictures here. Then in 6 months I will show my progress and then continue from there. I am not an expert and not a doctor. I am hoping to learn from everyone else and if anyone can learn from my experience that would be great also.

After meeting with doctors it became apparent that my scalp hair was not enough to get to where I hoped to be. My estimate of scalp donor hair was in the range from 2500 to maybe 4000 graphs from the different doctors. I then considered my options concerning SFET. My body hair supply was considered average. So my case was a simple one. The good news was that no repair work from previous surgeries was required. The bad news was that I was an average case from a donor perspective considering scalp and body.

I researched the options for about 2 years. I have just concluded 2 and ?? weeks with Dr. Umar in Redondo Beach, CA. We completed 18,745 graphs of head, beard, and body hair. We made a complete first pass of the entire scalp. Things seem very good so far, but now only time will tell. I may request a much smaller second pass in 6 to 9 months to continue toward my final goal of 22,000 ??“ 25,000 graphs which was always the plan. But we will have to evaluate the results from now until then.