Set A Date W/ Rosanelli --Review of Procedure, etc

Guest sac95816

Guest sac95816

Balding Brethern,

I'm a newbie but have done intensive research over the last several months and this site has been invaluable. I went for a consultation with Dr. Rosanelli, S.F., on Friday. I had previously viewed his website with skepticism, as it advertised outdated techniques and offered very few patient photos.

For anyone doing research and desireous of a HT in the Bay area, here's the DL on Dr. Rosanelli. First, He doesn't believe in FUE as clean extractions are difficult and he believes it can result in transecting folicules. Second, he uses single blade scalples, which one should expect. Third, he performs FU, placing single hair grafts on the hairline and micro (two to three FU's, behind the hairline. Fourth, he has a sizable surgery team, 5 to 6 assistants. I was able to meet them and most were vetrans with at least 2 years of experience. Fifth, Rosanelli has 5 to 6 stereo microscopes in the operating room. Sixth, he is flexible on price and will structure payment plans (huge selling point to me as I'm in my last year of law school and don't have 10k in the bank). Seventh, pricing seems reasonble, 1200 grafts for 5K with payments...not bad.

The BAD: First, Rosanelli seems to favor multiple smaller sessions rather than the much heralded "mega session." His reason for this is greater survival rate and reduced shock loss. I'm not sure of the merit of this view but that's it nonetheless. I certainly don't want to undergo three surgeries in a year. Second, he's very conservative with the hairline. His rationale for this is that future hairless will likely occur, even if you're dedicated to life-long medication. Also, at my age (27), he doesn't want to deplete the donor area. (he originally estimated my need at 1500 grafts but I had to argue strenuously just to get 1200 grafts in a single session.)