Hair Loss 3 Months Post-Op

Hi all!

I've been snooping around here for some time and finally decided to post. I had an 800 graft HT on the 23rd of December. About 3 weeks after my procedure, I began to shed a significant amount of hair which I chalked up to be shock loss. BUT this shedding persists to date (almost 3 months later). Could this still be shock loss?

I notice a lot of hair on my hands in the shower and when I apply monoxodil. The hair seems to come from the recepient area...not from anywhere else. I've been using Propecia for 4 months and it seems to have made my hair thicker...aside from this darn shock loss!!!

So what does everyone think? Could this in fact be shock loss or did the procedure accelerate my hair loss? This is REALLY frustrating and I just need some sort of closure. Any help would be MUCH appreciated.

Thanks icon_smile.gif

Hi all!

I've been snooping around here for some time and finally decided to post. I had an 800 graft HT on the 23rd of December. About 3 weeks after my procedure, I began to shed a significant amount of hair which I chalked up to be shock loss. BUT this shedding persists to date (almost 3 months later). Could this still be shock loss?

I notice a lot of hair on my hands in the shower and when I apply monoxodil. The hair seems to come from the recepient area...not from anywhere else. I've been using Propecia for 4 months and it seems to have made my hair thicker...aside from this darn shock loss!!!

So what does everyone think? Could this in fact be shock loss or did the procedure accelerate my hair loss? This is REALLY frustrating and I just need some sort of closure. Any help would be MUCH appreciated.

Thanks icon_smile.gif

Hi Some Dude,

Welcome to this forum! Did you have a diffused thinning pattern before your procedure? 800 grafts is not considered a big procedure however if you had a considerable amount of natural hair left in the recipient area, it is probably being shocked out.