Hair Restoration Discussion Forum - By and For Hair Loss Patients
Go Back   Forum By and for Hair Loss Patients > Non Surgical Treatments for Baldness > Hair Loss Drugs

Welcome! This forum has over 180,000 posts and 12,000 before and after photos going back several years. To research a topic or physician, click on "Search" and enter the name.

You are currently a guest with limited access. By joining our FREE community you can post on this forum, reply privately to other members and or create your own profile, blog and photo album. Registration is easy, private and free so Join Today!

If you have any problems with the registration or login process, please contact us. If you are new please visit our FAQ.

Hair Loss Drugs Share your opinions and experiences regarding drugs like Propecia (finasteride), Minoxidil and others.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   Top  
Old 03-10-2008, 02:04 PM
Ajen's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Last Online: 03-10-2008 03:05 PM
Default

All,

I am wondering if anyone can help me. I recently brought generic Propecia from Horizon Drugs website. A drug called Aurofina-1 arrived, that does say finasteride 1mg on the packet, however I cannot find a single other reference to Aurofina-1 on the internet; strange. It seems the normal generic Propecia that people get is called finpecia so I am surprised it is not that. Can anyone help, is this legitimate or have I been ripped off?

Kind regards,

Ajen
Reply With Quote
  #2   Top  
Old 03-10-2008, 03:50 PM
No Longer Active
Celestial Follicle Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,713
Last Online: 08-27-2009 05:48 PM
Default

Hola que tal.

Hoy he recibido el pedido de finasteride que realize a medicfarm , cual es mi sorpresa que me mandan finasteride llamado AUROFINA-1 , no tiene prospecto ni nada , vienen directamente los blissters.

Alguien esta tomando este generico?

gracias
Reply With Quote
  #3   Top  
Old 03-11-2008, 08:23 AM
Bill - Managing Publisher's Avatar
Administrator
Follicular Genie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 16,367
Last Online: Today 10:01 AM
Default

Ajen,

I too can't find any information on this, at least not in English. The information I did find in Spanish, I used Babelfish to translate but still didn't see anything substantial that could validate this. You might want to consider contacting the company or talking to your physician about this.

Otherwise, I'd consider getting a prescription for Proscar, splitting the pill into quarters and taking 1/4 pill a day which is similar to taking Propecia. This is what I do and is much more cost effective.

Bill
__________________
Managing Publisher of the Hair Transplant Network, the Hair Loss Learning Center, the Hair Loss Q&A Blog and the Hair Loss Forum and Social Community

View our hair loss articles on EZineArticles.com

Follow us on Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

Subscribe to our Newsletters | How We Recommend Physicians

-----

To learn about how I restored my hair, view my my hair loss website.

Remember, true beauty radiates from within, not from the skin.

I am not a medical professional and my words should not be taken as medical advice. All opinions and views shared are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #4   Top  
Old 04-11-2008, 09:03 AM
sukkel's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Last Online: 04-11-2008 10:12 AM
Default

Hi guys,

I have also bought aurofin-1. I did buy it over the internet and it was merchandised as most effective. However I have not received any documentation of this drug. Just 9 strips with each 10 pills on it. Enough for 3 months. However I'm now afraid of taking these pills because the way i recevied them. They where in an envelope with a post mark of the republic of Seychelles on it. Nothing else but a stamp on the back of the envelope with Gerrit Heimerle a po box and the city Victoria. HAs anyone been tripped into this as well? I find it odd to say the least. Please help I've paid a lot of money for these pills.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Top  
Old 04-11-2008, 11:57 PM
its752's Avatar
Senior Member
Guru Real Hair Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 303
Last Online: 06-14-2009 10:08 PM
Default

Ajen and sukkel, I personally wouldn't take anything that doesn't say "Merck Frosst" or "Propecia" or "Avodart" right on the box!
Reply With Quote
  #6   Top  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:20 AM
CaZ's Avatar
CaZ CaZ is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Last Online: 05-02-2008 09:17 AM
Default

Regards,

I am responding to your recent inquiry... I also have received Aurofina-1 with the same unique packaging despite my prescription from my doctor forwarded.. I just received it today and I was wondering your results and or any responses thus far?

Thank you,

CaZ
Reply With Quote
  #7   Top  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:35 PM
Carl's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Last Online: 05-03-2008 05:36 PM
Default

Hi, I just had a similar experience. I ordered two 90 day supplies of propecia and received 90 tablets of Aurofina-1. Can anyone explain what this is? I wanted to get away from the high cost of propecia, but I feel like a fool now.

Thanks, Carl
Reply With Quote
  #8   Top  
Old 05-15-2008, 08:15 AM
lekito's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Last Online: 06-15-2008 10:38 AM
Default

Hi everyone, to all those who have had bad experience with the generic known as Aurofina-1, i have done some research, and found what claims to be the certificate of analysis. I have attached an image of the COA.

The Manufacturing company appears to be a company named Aurochem laboratories, the research i have done on their webpages does not lead to any evidence that they manufacture aurofina-1 although on one of their two webpages states they produce finasrteride but does not state any name which it is sold under.

http://www.aurochemlaboratories.com/ This site states thaat it manufactures finasteride but has no product name: aka it doesn't mention whether it is aurofina or not

http://www.aurochemlabs.com/ This site has no mention of the production of finasteride at all


Both of the above sites I tried to contact but received message failure errors.

My recommendation is to contact your suppliers, after doing some of your own research into this see what they say, as they may distribute more than one generic and if you are fortunate enough they may resend you, from a known generic that they may also offer.

Please can someone tell me what they thought of the information I supplied. Does the COA and the websites link or look legitimate.

Please inform me. Thanks and best of luck in resolving this.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg COA_-__Finasteride_1mg.jpg (36.6 KB, 379 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9   Top  
Old 05-22-2008, 08:24 PM
m'mmmm's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Last Online: 05-22-2008 09:27 PM
Default

I received this from generics4all. After taking it for about two weeks, my hair loss resumed in force. I was on Propecia for about 6 years, and my hair was stable. After going back and forth with the support from generics4all, I am convinced that this is a sham operation. I stopped taking these pills. Also has anyone noticed that the pills have a very odd odor which Propecia does not?
Reply With Quote
  #10   Top  
Old 06-02-2008, 06:27 PM
XSPIZ's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Last Online: 06-08-2008 06:30 PM
Default

Hi all,
I, too, have just received loose strips of Aurifina1 tablets in the mail, from Seychelles. I am now sceptical, whether these tablets actually contain finasteride or something that does not work. I have ordered 180 tablets or 6 months supply. Should I throw them out and see a doctor, or start using them and hope for the best?
Spiro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0